## Mandy Schroeder

Information & Communications Coordinator 920.492.2905 ext. 1025

E-mail: mschroeder@ashwaubenonk12.org



## MEDIA RELEASE

## For More Information, Contact:

Paul Lotto, DECA Advisor Ashwaubenon High School 920-492-2955, ext.5102 plotto@ashwaubenonk12.org

## ASHWAUBENON HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS MEDAL AT DECA DISTRICTS

Ashwaubenon, WI – January 10, 2020 – Ashwaubenon High School had 23 students compete at the DECA District Competition held on Saturday, January 4<sup>th</sup> at Bay Port High School. The competition welcomed 20 schools and more than 700 students. Thirteen of the Ashwaubenon High School students medaled in the competition, and one team was a series finalist. Six of those students will be moving on to the DECA State Competition in March. There are a total of 16 event areas for the students to compete in. Each student takes a business test and does two business role plays with business professionals. Student scores on all three events are added together to determine overall winners in each event category.

Below are the results for the 13 Ashwaubenon High School students who earned medals.

Students who qualified for State:

- Logan Chart & Sam Stanko 2nd overall, medaled in every event.
- Annie Pfeifer & Puja Patel medaled in event and had a high enough overall score to qualify for State
- Naveen Balu & Lakshman Mallela medaled in event and had a high enough overall score to qualify for State.

Students who won one or more medals in one of three events: Leah Ashworth (2 metals), Madelyn Hamielec, Grace Nesvacil, Janet Parise, Dan Poellinger, Zach Rahr, Victoria Schamber.

DECA is an Association of Marketing Students. There are DECA Clubs at many of the area high schools. The clubs are organized into State Districts. Ashwaubenon is in District 4, which covers the Green Bay area and most of the Fox Valley. There are District, State and International DECA competitions each year in which students must qualify to move on.

For more information, please contact Paul Lotto, AHS DECA Advisor, at <a href="mailto:plotto@ashwaubenonk12.org">plotto@ashwaubenonk12.org</a> or 920-492-2955, extension 5102.

Photo Attached: ASD-HS-DecaDistricts.jpg.

Photo Caption: Pictured from the back row, left to right: Suraj Dhruvaraj, Issac Muscavitch, Sam Stanko, Victoria Schamber, Zoe May, Kennedy Koller, Asra Azad, Madison Tilly, Aneesha Prathigudupu, Madison Martin, Olive Srubas, Daria Gerzetich, Grace Nesvacil, Janet Parise, (front row) Lakshman Mallela,

Naveen Balu, Zach Rahr, Dan Poellinger, Logan Chart, Puja Patel, Annie Pfeifer, and Leah Ashworth (missing from picture) Maddie Hamielec,

### [End of media release]